CCLA Library Tours for Students


By Jennifer Walker

Every summer, we like to invite all the new Summer and Articling students in Ottawa to the CCLA library for a tour. We try to let all the firms and sole practitioners know, so they can set that up, but if you’re a student and are reading this, please feel free to book yourself for a tour! Our tours last about 15 to 20 minutes, and of course, are right here in the library at Courthouse at 161 Elgin Street.

This year, we have some really exciting news for students that we’re pleased to share: we now have a “Student” membership category! Previously, students were not eligible to be members, and so could not take advantage of any of the member perks. This new category will let students have all the benefits other members do, including the after-hours access to the CCLA Library, but for a pretty great reduced price. Without membership, access to the library will be limited to our normal business hours – Monday to Friday, 8:30 am to 5:00 pm.

We have scheduled tours for the following times – if you would like to schedule your students, or yourself, for a tour, please RSVP by email to Katie Tribe.

May
Thursday, May 6, 2010 – 10:30 am
Thursday, May 13, 2010 – 10:30 am
Monday, May 17, 2010 – 10:30am, 2:00 pm
Thursday, May 20, 2010 – 10:30 am, 2:00 pm
Wednesday, May 26, 2010 – 10:30 am, 2:00 pm

June
Wednesday, June 2, 2010 – 10:30 am
Wednesday, June 9, 2010 – 10:30 am

August
Tuesday, August 24, 2010 – 10:30 am
Thursday, August 26, 2010 – 10:30 am
Tuesday, August 31, 2010 – 10:30 am

September
Thursday, September 2, 2010 – 10:30 am
Wednesday, September 8, 2010 – 10:30 am, 2:00 pm
Friday, September 10, 2010 – 10:30 am, 2:00 pm
Monday, September 13, 2010 – 10:30 am, 2:00 pm
Wednesday, September 15, 2010 – 10:30 am, 2:00 pm
Friday, September 17, 2010 – 10:30 am, 2:00 pm
Wednesday, September 22, 2010 – 10:30 am
Wednesday, September 29, 2010 – 2:00 pm

If none of these sessions will work, just let Katie know – we can always schedule another tour time!